I’m not going to make it

I said that I was going to get a couple of things done this weekend, ie photo shoot, eat Paleo, order business cards and get my Google Sniper site up and running.  I did all of that except for the Google Sniper site, and I wanted to let you know now that I am not getting that done.  I would like to think that I am going to and its not going to work out.

I am a huge fan of calling a spade a spade.  I mean any marketing class that you attend will let you know that if you are not going to do something, you are breaking a promise to the public – go ugly early and let them know up front what the problems are or what the truth is.  Now I know that you are not my consumer base and I didn’t sell you faulty Asprin.  But I do think that you deserve that same respect/honor, or how else will we grow this beautiful fledgling relationship into the full-on partnership that I am planning for.

The cool thing about coming to grips with and admitting what is so, is that now I can:

  1. Look at what didn’t work  that had me not reach my goal
  2. Look at the impact of not doing what I said I would do (if this were a time sensitive activity it could really have an impact – lost contract opportunity missed equipment delivery date, etc)
  3. Make a new promise that can be trusted because I let you know ASAP that I was not going to be able to do what I said I would when I said I would (credibility)
  4. Put a plan in place that will support me in my new promise, building off of and avoiding what go in the way of me accomplishing the last promise

That said, my new promise is that I am going to pick a product to sell and what key word I am going to build my website around by Tuesday morning.  And to support me in doing that I have blocked 3 hours.

Now it’s time for nighty night.  Love you guys!  Let me know what you are re-promising to do that you previously promised to yourself or someone else in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

