My Breaking Point

Does anyone remember the movie Joe Versus the Volcano?  It is a story about, and I quote from IMDB: “When a hypochondriac (Tom Hanks circa 1990) learns that he is dying, he accepts an offer to throw himself in a volcano at a tropical island, and along the way there, learns to truly live.”  Well I do, and it made a mark.  This one scene in particular where Joe goes to his office job with buzzing florescent lights, green grey walls, no windows, sick co-workers and this one crappy dying plant.  Anyone?  Bueller?… Bueller?

Ok well don’t let me discribe it to you – just watch it.

This is not what my job is like, but when I have nightmares about being an office desk jockey for the rest of my life, like the day that I called Jessica freaking out and we decided it was time for me to pick at date andwrite my letter of resignation, this is what they look like.   Me frail, sickly and covered in chair-ass (RLOL that word always makes me chuckle), sitting underneath humming lights, surrounded by piles of papers with a yelling boss and no sense of purpose.

Like Donald Trump said, “Part of being a winner is knowing when enough is enough. Sometimes you have to give up the fight and walk away, and move on to something that’s more productive.”  

What is your breaking point?  What is that one thing that would push you over the edge now or that has pushed your to the “enough is enough” point in the past?  Let us know in the comments below.

K

Leave a Reply

