Getting my geek on: PageRank

800px-PageRank-hi-res

Getting my geek on: PageRank

Wow am I learning a lot!

When you put a search term into your Google search bar it shoots out answers.  Those search results have often seemed like pure MAGIC to me, but it alas I am a grown up and know that MAGIC only exists in Disney movies, my imagination, parking karma and chocolate;)  But really those results are based on something.  Some things actually like:

  • Keywords in the URL
  • Keyword presence throughout the website
  • Number of incoming links
  • Quality of incoming links
  • Page Authority
  • mozRank
  • Page Rank
  • Anchor Text distribution
  • Content on the competing page

Now what the HECK does all of that stuff mean?

Sorry guys, you’ve got me!  I am no guru.  I am just a girl brave or crazy enough to quit her job with only a laptop and a dream.  Well wait one second!  AND a sharp inquisitive mind, who knows how to Google and read.  So here is my lesson for the day.

PageRank is, as stated by Wikipedia,  a link analysis algorithm, named after Larry Page, that is used by Google to rank websites.  It is a measure of relative importance of the sites in comparison to the word set in the search bar. PageRank is key in the Search Engine Optimization (SEO) of your website.

From what I gather about Page Authority is that is is measured by your PageRank, and measured by the links to your page.  The more links that your website/webpage has to other similar and highly linked sites/pages the more webpage “cred” it has.  The links are like backup for your site showing that it has depth, breadth, validity, aka “Page Cred”.

I provided a link to Wikipedia if you would like to learn more, and if you want to share some of your knowledge PLEASE do.  I LOVE it when knowledge comes to me;)

K

Leave a Reply

